How I work

This has been circulating recently, so I thought I would share this here:

Location: High Peak, Derbyshire (Home); Manchester (Work)
Current gig: Serials Librarian and Subject Support
Current mobile device: LG Optimus Black
Current computer: It’s a PC, no idea what!
One word that best describes how you work: Organised
What apps/software/tools can’t you live without? Facebook; I live my life there…I also use a variety of online tools/apps for work, as I deal with serials suppliers. I am not a fan of death-by-powerpoint but I have to use it for teaching. Tried Prezi for a change and it made the class feel sick…so back to powerpoint!
What’s your workspace like? Very organised. Very neat.
What’s your best time-saving trick? Being organised, saves a lot of hassle. I flag emails for attention and I put the kettle on a timer before I go to bed at night, so it’s ready for a hot drink in the morning.
What’s your favorite to-do list manager? Email flags. My job would be hell without them.
Besides your phone and computer, what gadget can’t you live without? Notebook. I sit at the kitchen table using it, while my partner is either on the main PC or in the shed. I can take it anywhere and work too.
What everyday thing are you better at than anyone else? Drinking wine, although I don’t think I am very good at it as I fall over a lot! 
Seriously, I am proof-reader extraordinaire!
What are you currently reading? Re-reading Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series. (Note: as of 14.1.14 I am reading ‘The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters’ by G.W. Dalquist. Very good!)
What do you listen to while you work? Don’t listen to music at work, as I am in an open plan office, but I mostly listen to Rock or Heavy Metal. If I am on a roll to get things done, the heavier the better.
Are you more of an introvert or an extrovert? Anyone who knows me would be surprised to find I am a bit introverted, but I am quite shy with people I don’t know very well and I try not to put my foot in it too often so can come across a bit snooty (as my Mum would say).
What’s your sleep routine like? Bad…never sleep for more than a couple of hours before waking. Unfortunately, my partner has elevated sleeping to an Olympic level, so we are a bit polarised. I just get up and read a book/play on the notepad.
Fill in the blank: I’d love to see ______ answer these same questions. Mark Chadwick (Levellers)
What’s the best advice you’ve ever received? No-one’s going to die…
Is there anything else you’d like to add? I sometimes think I may be slightly OCD as I like things organised and hate it when things aren’t where they should be. Perhaps that’s why I am a Librarian?

One thought on “How I work

Leave a Reply

