New Technologies

Image

Browsing around on the home PC, I came across this photo.

I took this in a bike shop in Hastings last year as this is the bike I had when I was 12. I asked for a bike for Christmas and my Birthday (they’re one and the same for me…) and this is what my folks bought me: a Raleigh Saffron. Now, not to sound ungrateful, but what I really had wanted was a ten-speed racer…fast-forward some 30 years and I had a new road bike last year for Christmas and my Birthday. The Saffron in 1982 would’ve probably cost my parents a month’s wages: a Rose Pro WSL Lady cost the best part of £900. http://www.rosebikes.co.uk/bike/rose-pro-wsl-200-2014/aid:666623

And this got me to thinking about new technology. In 1982 I wanted a ten-speed racer and got a three speed shopper. In 1993 we implemented our first library management system that was computerised at Wolverhampton Libraries (the DS system that was the precursor to Talis). Now, most of my job is working online, either through emails, with the LMS or on our VLE!

So,how do we use these new technologies? How can we exploit them to their utmost potential? I wasn’t going to win any races on that Saffron (which, incidentally is still in my Dad’s shed!). I probably wouldn’t have won any on a ten-speed either, but I would have been more than likely to have a go. Giving me 27 gears has driven me to heights on a bike that I would never have aspired to even five years ago. Along with some friends, we’ve covered almost the length of Britain this year alone!

Given that new technologies are the drivers of the changing information environment, where can we go with them? I believe that there isn’t any limit on what we can do with them, except our imagination. And I have an over-active imagination! Watch this space…

Leave a Reply

